Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
Cordell & Cordell’s Cincinnati divorce lawyers for men work to maximize fathers roles in their children’s lives while protecting their financial means to do so.
Featuring a comprehensive understanding of Ohio divorce law, our Cincinnati family law attorneys focus entirely on Cincinnati divorce issues, including Ohio child custody laws, Ohio alimony laws and child support in Ohio.
Consider Cordell & Cordell, a partner men can count on.
Frequently Asked Cincinnati Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Cincinnati to file for divorce?
You are required to reside in the county in which you file for divorce 90 days prior to filing. It’s important to note that you must reside in Ohio for six months prior to filing for divorce.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Cincinnati before a divorce can be granted? How long will a divorce take?
In Ohio, there is no mandatory waiting period before your divorce can be granted. However, if you have children, you will likely be required to complete a parenting class before the court will grant your divorce.
The length of your divorce will vary depending upon the particular issues in your case.
How can I serve my spouse in Cincinnati? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
You can serve your spouse with personal service or certified mail. Under certain circumstances you may request ordinary mail service.
If the attempts to serve your spouse have failed, you may request service by publication through the court. The court will place the publication in the appropriate publications.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Cincinnati?
It depends upon the county you are filing for divorce in. The Ohio Supreme Court has adopted some standard forms required by each party; however, your particular county may have additional required forms.
Where do I file for divorce?
You will file for divorce in the county in which you have resided for 90 days prior to filing. You will file at Domestic Relations Common Pleas Court for your respective county.
How much are divorce filing fees?
The fees vary for each county.
Are there any Cincinnati-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
All courts are required to follow the law as adopted by the Ohio Supreme Court. Each county resides within a Court of Appeals District.
The Court of Appeals District for your county may have created case law regarding issues that have not been directly addressed by the Ohio Supreme Court or have further analyzed a decision of the Ohio Supreme Court.
The case law created by your Court of Appeals District will provide precedent for you to follow.