Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
If you are facing a divorce, possibly one you did not want, Cordell & Cordell’s Salt Lake City divorce attorneys are here to help you sort through the legal process, establish divorce and custody goals and be a partner you can count on.
Cordell & Cordell’s Salt Lake City divorce attorneys have a comprehensive understanding of Utah divorce law. Our lawyers focus entirely on men’s divorce issues, including Utah child custody laws, Utah alimony laws, and child support in Utah.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell Salt Lake City divorce attorney, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and the best service possible.
Frequently Asked Salt Lake City Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Salt Lake City before I can file for divorce?
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Salt Lake City before a divorce can be granted?
There is a mandatory waiting period of 90 days from the date of the filing of the petition before a final divorce hearing can be held.
However, that waiting period can be waived for good cause. Good cause can often be found when the parties have reached an agreement toward settlement.
You can also avoid the 90-day waiting period if both parties attend the mandatory divorce parent education class.
How can I serve my spouse in Salt Lake City? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
Service of the petition must be done in person. Service cannot be done by an interested party in the divorce such as a family member, a friend, your attorney, or anyone in your attorney’s office. Usually a process server is hired to find your spouse and personally serve the documents.
You can serve by publication in Salt Lake County, however your judge will most likely require you to show all the efforts you made to get your spouse served before he will allow the court to accept service by publication.
The court wants to make sure your spouse has a fair chance to know about the lawsuit, and to do that they will often make you do all you can to have your spouse served before he/she will allow service by publication.
If you end up serving by publication you should contact Media One Inc. Media One is the largest classified provider in Utah and will ensure that your publication is available in the area where you spouse lives.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Salt Lake City?
This site links you to the Utah courts online assistance program, which tells you the documents you need to file and gives you links to forms that you need. http://www.utcourts.gov/ocap/utah/divorce/
Where do I file for divorce in Salt Lake County?
If you live in Salt Lake County, you will file at the Matheson Courthouse located at 450 S. State St. in Salt Lake City.
How much are filing fees at the Matheson Courthouse?
The filing fee for a divorce in Salt Lake County is $310, but there is also an $8 vital statistics fee for the Department of Health.
Are there any Salt Lake City-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
Yes, Salt Lake County district courts use commissioners and judges to handle their divorce cases. A commissioner handles all preliminary issues of a divorce, and the judge handles all final decrees.
For example, if you wanted temporary orders on child care while the divorce was going on, a commissioner would make the decisions on that issue. If you had a final divorce decree that needed to be entered, the judge would handle that.