Men and fathers going through a Minnesota divorce face an array of challenges that threaten to upend their lives. Cordell & Cordell’s Minnesota divorce lawyers focus on representing men during the divorce process and that gives them a better understanding of how the state’s laws affect them and their families.
Read through our Minnesota divorce and child custody articles to gain a better understanding of the road ahead. Educating yourself about the divorce process in Minnesota will improve your ability to communication with your divorce lawyer, which goes a long way toward helping your reach your goals in Minnesota family court.
- Minnesota Child Support Guidelines Deviations
- 11 Enforcement Options If You Owe Support Arrears
- Edina Fathers Rights
- Minnesota Child Custody Questions
Minnesota men’s divorce attorneys provide answers to frequently asked questions with regards to the divorce process and divorce laws in Minnesota.
What are the grounds for divorce in Minnesota?
Minnesota is considered a “no fault” state. This means that you do not need the consent of your spouse to obtain a divorce, nor are the reasons why you want a divorce considered in granting the divorce. In Minnesota, the courts can enter a divorce decree upon showing that:
• One of the parties has lived in the state for 180 days prior to the commencement of the proceedings
• The marriage is irretrievably broken
Related Article: The No-Fault/Fault-Based Divorce Debate
How much does a divorce cost in MN?
Unfortunately, there are no set numbers on how much your divorce will ultimately cost. You do have several options in lieu of trial that will cut costs such as mediation and settlement discussions.
Related Article: The Million-Dollar Question: How Much Will My Divorce Cost?
How much does an uncontested divorce cost in Minnesota?
An uncontested divorce is often much cheaper than a traditional divorce. However, unless a judge waives your case fees, you will still be responsible for paying your court’s filing fees at the time of submission. Filing fees typically start at $400 in Minnesota.
Do I really need to hire a Minnesota divorce lawyer?
It is possible to complete your divorce without representation by a Minnesota divorce attorney. However, it is not recommended as this process is emotional and often more difficult than originally expected. A Minnesota men’s divorce lawyer can ensure that your interests are protected during the process as well as give you valuable advice on the overall proceedings.
Related Article: Do I Need To Hire A Divorce Attorney?
Does Minnesota grant divorces based on marital fault?
No. Minnesota is a no fault state.
Related Article: The Pros And Cons Of At-Fault Divorce
What is the process of divorce in Minnesota?
If you have lived in Minnesota for at least 180 days (6 months) you can file for divorce. The steps following will be unique to each case. The divorce process usually begins with filing a Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. Depending on if an agreement on the conditions of the divorce can be made, a judge and court process may be involved.
Can I get maintenance or will I have to provide maintenance to my spouse in Minnesota?
Maintenance is never a guarantee in Minnesota divorce cases as there is no set formula for determining the length or amount of the awards. The court will look at all relevant factors in determining the appropriateness of a maintenance award, including:
• The financial resources of the party seeking maintenance;
• The time necessary to acquire sufficient education or training to enable the party seeking maintenance to find appropriate employment and that party’s future earning capacity;
• The standard of living established during the marriage;
• The duration of the marriage;
• The age and physical and emotional condition of the spouse seeking maintenance; and
• The ability of the spouse, from whom maintenance is sought, to meet his or her own needs while meeting those of the spouse seeking maintenance.
Related Article: Will I Have To Pay Alimony?
Can I change my name at the time of divorce in Minnesota?
Yes, though you must request your name be restored prior to the finalization of your decree. The name change must be made in good faith with no intent to defraud or mislead anyone by the change of name.
Related Article: Can I Force My Ex-Wife To Change Her Last Name?
Can I get an annulment in Minnesota?
An annulment treats the marriage as though it never happened.
A marriage may be annulled in Minnesota if:
A.) One party was not able to give their voluntary consent to the marriage at the time of the marriage ceremony because:
1. One party has a mental illness, insanity, mental incapacity and the other party did not know about the mental illness, insanity or mental incapacity at the time of the marriage ceremony;
2. One party was under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other “incapacitating” substance at the time of the marriage ceremony;
3. Consent was obtained by force or fraud.
B.) One party is not able to “consummate” the marriage with sexual intercourse and the other party did not know this at the time of the marriage ceremony.
C) One of the parties was under the legal age for marriage. The legal age for marriage in Minnesota is age 18, or age 16 or 17 only with the consent of the parents, a guardian, or the court and approval of the application for a marriage license by a Juvenile Court Judge.
Related Article: How Can A Marriage Be Annulled?
When can I file for divorce in Minnesota?
In Minnesota, you must have been a resident of the state for 180 days prior to the filing for divorce.
Related Article: I’m In A Hurry: How Fast Can I Get Divorced?
When is my Minnesota divorce case going to be over?
The court may grant your divorce any time after the filing of the Summons and Petition. The length of the proceedings depends on the amount of litigation involved.
Related Article: How long can a divorce case remain open?
How long do you have to be separated before filing for divorce in Minnesota?
There is not a specified amount of time you must be “informally” separated in Minnesota before filing for divorce.
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Minnesota?
No, it does not legally matter who files for divorce first in Minnesota. When one party files the petition, the other party must respond to the court within 30 days or the divorce will be considered uncontested, which means the unresponsive party is giving up their rights to have a say in the divorce proceedings.
Do I have to go to court for my Minnesota divorce?
In Minnesota, if an attorney represents you and the other party it is possible to file all dissolution documents administratively, which allows you both not to show up to court to finalize the divorce.
However, there are several appearances, if necessary, that are required in your divorce proceeding whereby you will be required to appear before the judge.
Related Article: Why It Pays To Settle Your Divorce Out Of Court
If attempts to serve my spouse do not work, what is my next step?
If you have attempted to serve your spouse but are unable to complete service, depending on the circumstances you may be able to provide service by publication or certified mail upon the court’s permission.
Related Article: Serving Divorce Papers To A Missing Spouse
At what point during the divorce process in Minnesota can a spouse remarry or start dating?
Legally, you cannot be married to more than one person at the same time. Therefore, until your divorce decree is entered you cannot remarry. The decision to begin dating again is a personal decision that only you can decide when the time is right.
Related Article: How Soon Can You Remarry After Divorce?
What if my spouse does not want the divorce?
In Minnesota, you do not need the consent of your spouse to obtain a divorce. You simply need to show that the marriage is irretrievably broken. If your spouse is denying this requirement, be prepared to attend court-ordered mediation or even possibly go to trial.
Related Article: Collaborative Divorce vs. Contested Divorce
Do the other issues – child support, child custody, spousal maintenance, and property – have to be decided before finalizing a divorce in Minnesota?
Generally, yes. However, in certain situations it is possible to bifurcate your divorce proceeding and have the court retain jurisdiction over the remaining issues while entering your divorce decree.
Also, Child Support Magistrates in Minnesota are capable of handling all child support proceedings. This can be done prior to the final dissolution or post-dissolution.
How long do I have to live in Minnesota before I can get a divorce?
You must live in Minnesota for the previous 180 days for the court to have jurisdiction over your dissolution. You are allowed to live in different counties so long as they are all in Minnesota.
After I file for divorce, do I have to continue to live in Minnesota?
No. However, Minnesota will still retain jurisdiction over your dissolution proceedings unless all parties involved agree to a change of venue.
Related Article: What Is The Residency Requirement For Filing For Divorce?
What if I am in the military and out of the state of Minnesota?
There are special rules concerning military personnel and it is recommended if you are in the military and would like a divorce that you consult with a divorce attorney.
Related Article: Divorce residency requirements for active duty military
What forms do I need to file a divorce in Minnesota?
The initial filing of the dissolution will require a Summons, Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, Confidential Information Form and if necessary, the financial affidavit of child support. You will then be required to have your spouse personally served with these documents.
Related Article: What Legal Information Do You Need To File For Divorce?
How and where is a MN divorce complaint filed?
The Petition for Dissolution of Marriage is filed with the clerk of the court, in the jurisdiction where you live. Visit the Minnesota Courts website to find your jurisdiction and the amount of the filing fee.
Related Article: What To Know When Filing For Divorce
How do I serve the divorce complaint on my spouse in Minnesota?
The easiest way to serve your spouse is to use a private process server, the sheriff’s department, or have anyone that is over 18 and not an interested party to the case give your spouse the documents. However, any of the above methods do require an affidavit of service to be filed with the court.
Related Article: Was I Properly Served?
How is a divorce granted in Minnesota? Will I have to go to court?
Once you have met all the requirements given by the court in your divorce proceedings (i.e. mediation, parenting class, ICMC, etc.), the court will review your file – if non-contested – and enter your divorce. Keep in mind that not every dissolution will have the same requirements.
If there are still matters that require court assistance to resolve, you will have to have a trial, where you will need to appear before the judge and present evidence and testimony.
Related Article: 10 Steps For Succeeding In Divorce Court
What typically happens if I go to a MN court to obtain my divorce myself?
If you are trying to obtain your dissolution on your own and there are children involved, you will be required to have at least one hearing in front of the judge. You will have to use the generic documents provided by the courts such as the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and Judgment and Decree. These documents will not be specific to your needs or specific fact situation.
How do I prove fault for divorce in Minnesota?
Minnesota is a no fault state, therefore fault does not need to be and should not be proven.
At any time during a Minnesota divorce can a parent change a minor child’s last name without the other parent’s permission?
No minor child’s name may be changed without both parents having notice of the pending application of change of name. The applicant must show proof that the non-applicant parent(s) has received notification of the Application for Name Change of a Minor.
Related Article: What Is The Process For Changing My Child’s Last Name?
Can a couple become legally married by living together as man and wife under Minnesota law (common law marriage)?
Minnesota does not recognize common law marriage.
Related Article: What qualifies as a legal wedding or common law marriage?