Kansas men’s divorce attorneys provide answers to frequently asked questions with regards to divorce in Kansas and Kansas divorce laws.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the grounds for divorce in Kansas?
In Kansas, the grounds for divorce are incompatibility (no fault), failure to perform a marital duty, and incompatibility by reason of mental illness or mental incapacity of one or both spouses.
How much does a divorce cost in Kansas?
The cost and affordability of a divorce varies widely from case to case and depending on your unique financial situation.
Do I need to hire an attorney for a divorce in Kansas?
Although you can represent yourself in a divorce case, it is advisable to hire an attorney to represent your interests in a divorce.
Does Kansas grant divorces based on marital fault?
Yes, although it is not common in Kansas to pursue a divorce on fault grounds.
How is property divided in a divorce in Kansas?
In Kansas, property can be divided with an agreement between spouses, otherwise, a judge or an arbitrator will divide property based on a series of relevant factors. These can include age, length of the marriage, earning capacity, how the certain property was acquired, alimony, and tax consequences of property division.
Is there alimony in Kansas?
Yes, in the state of Kansas, alimony of a fair and equitable amount can be awarded by a judge depending on relevant factors of the marriage and individual spouses.
How long do you have to be married to get alimony in Kansas?
While there is not a set number of years you have to be married to receive spousal support in Kansas, a variety of factors will be considered if a judge awards alimony. These factors include the duration of the marriage, standard of living, financial standing of both parties, contribution to the marriage, age and physical condition of the spouses, ability to find employment, and the ability of the paying party to provide support to their spouse.
In Kansas, alimony cannot be awarded by the court for longer than 121 months. If both parties agree to a longer-term, it can exceed that time period. Court-mandated spousal support ends if either spouse dies or if the receiving party remarries.
Is there legal separation in Kansas?
In Kansas, there is not a mandatory period of separation prior to divorce. As long as you have been a resident of the state for sixty days prior to filing the petition for divorce, you are not required to live separately before or after the petition has been filed. The court has jurisdiction to grant the divorce once the petition has been on file for sixty days.
Can I change my name at the time of divorce in Kansas?
Can I get an annulment in Kansas instead of a divorce?
How is alimony in Kansas determined during a divorce?
An award of maintenance is based on an economic imbalance between the spouses, so an award of spousal maintenance would depend on the unique factors of your individual case.
How long do I have to be a resident of Kansas to file for divorce?
At anytime, as long as at least one of the parties has resided in Kansas for at least 60 days prior to filing for divorce.
How long does a divorce take in Kansas?
A decree of divorce can be issued no less than 60 days from the date of filing. However, most cases take longer.
Do I have to go to court for a divorce in Kansas?
It depends on whether there are contested issues and whether your spouse is represented.
What if my divorce in Kansas is uncontested?
When a divorce is uncontested, that means that both parties agree to the divorce and on the terms of the divorce. This generally makes the divorce process much easier and requires less time in court.
If attempts to serve my spouse with divorce papers does not work, what is my next step?
Service by publication may be made.
At what point during a divorce in Kansas can a spouse remarry or start dating?
You cannot marry someone prior to the finalization of the divorce, meaning a judge has signed and filed the divorce decree with the court.
What if my spouse does not want a divorce?
It does not matter in Kansas. Only one party has to plead that the parties are incompatible in order for the court to grant the divorce on the ground of incompatibility.
Do issues like child support, child custody, alimony, and property have to be decided before finalizing a divorce in Kansas?
Not always. Some courts are willing to (and, in fact, some Kansas Courts automatically) bifurcate the issues, so that the divorce can be entered prior to resolving the other issues.
After I file for divorce, do I have to continue to live in Kansas?
No. Residency is established at the time of filing.
What if I am in the military and out of the state of Kansas?
If Kansas is your residence of record (and has been for at least 60 days prior to filing the petition), you can file in Kansas.
What forms do I need to file for a divorce in Kansas?
A Petition for Decree of Divorce initiates the divorce process.
How do I file for divorce in Kansas?
By filing a Petition for Divorce in district (i.e. county) court.
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Kansas?
No, filing for divorce first does not give preference to either party in a divorce. The normal divorce process will still be followed, regardless of who files for divorce first.
How do I serve the divorce complaint on my spouse in Kansas?
Service can be made by the sheriff, private process server, via certified mail, or by publication if no other method of service can be achieved.
How is a divorce in Kansas granted?
A divorce is granted by a judge signing a Decree of Divorce and filing the decree with the court. Whether you will have to actually appear in court depends on whether there are contested issues and whether the parties are represented by counsel.
What typically happens if I go to a Kansas court to obtain my divorce myself?
The court will request testimony to establish that it has jurisdiction over the parties and the divorce and will likely ask you questions regarding the contents of any settlement. If issues are disputed, then the parties will have the opportunity to present their respective cases to the judge, who will rule on disputed issues.
Is Kansas a no fault divorce state?
Yes, a divorce in Kansas does not require either party to prove the other party is at fault.
Can a parent change a minor child’s last name during a divorce in Kansas without the other parent’s permission?
Generally, no, if both parents are still legal custodians of the child.
Is there common law marriage in Kansas?
Yes, common law marriage is achieved by you and your partner intending to be married and by holding yourselves out as a married couple. There is no time requirement for common law marriage.
Our website uses "cookies" (small text files stored by your web browser) to track visits and may use this information to retarget and remarket visitors with advertisements across the Internet. By visiting this website, you acknowledge there is no legal advice being provided and no attorney-client relationship is formed.