Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
If you are facing a divorce, possibly one you did not want, Cordell & Cordell’s Oklahoma City divorce attorneys are here to help you sort through the legal process, establish divorce and custody goals and be a partner you can count on.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell Oklahoma City divorce attorney, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and the best service possible.
Consider Cordell & Cordell, a partner men can count on.
Frequently Asked Oklahoma City Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Oklahoma City before I can file for divorce?
You or your spouse must live in the county for at least 30 days prior to filing for a divorce/dissolution of marriage.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Oklahoma City before a divorce can be granted?
There are mandatory waiting periods from the date the Divorce/Dissolution of Marriage Petition is filed before it can be granted.
If there are no minor children involved there is a mandatory waiting period of 10 days.
If there are minor children the waiting period is 90 days, which can be waived upon agreement of the parties and a showing that the waiver is in the best interest of the minor child(ren).
How can I serve my spouse in Oklahoma City? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
You can serve your spouse in a number of ways:
1) via certified mail, restricted to the recipient;
2) by process server (recommended); or
3) by sheriff.
If you are unable to serve your spouse by any of the means above, you may serve process by publishing notice. If you must serve by publication, we recommend The Journal Record as the publication of choice.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Oklahoma City?
In order to properly file for divorce you will need a Petition setting out the request for divorce/dissolution of marriage and the grounds for the request (i.e. adultery or irreconcilable differences), as well as a Summons and a Notice of Automatic Temporary Injunction.
Most courts in Oklahoma City will require a Civil Cover Sheet be filled out and filed as well.
Where do I need to file for divorce in Oklahoma City?
You will always file for divorce/dissolution of marriage in the county or district court for the county in which you live.
In Oklahoma County, the District Court is located at 320 Robert S. Kerr Ave. in downtown Oklahoma City.
For other locations, please consult the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network website.
How much are divorce filing fees in Oklahoma City?
To file for a divorce/dissolution of marriage, and pay to have the Summons issued, the filing fees will be $181 if you do not have an attorney representing you. The filing fee increases by $10 if an attorney represents you.
Are there any Oklahoma City-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
Yes. Many counties have different rules and procedures for handling divorce/dissolution of marriage actions.
It is important to consult the Rules for the Oklahoma District Courts and the Local Rules of each district prior to filing for a divorce/dissolution of marriage.