Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
If you are facing a divorce, possibly even one you don not want, Cordell & Cordell’s Philadelphia divorce lawyers are here to help you sort through the legal process, establish divorce and custody goals, and be a partner you can count on.
Cordell & Cordell’s Philadelphia divorce attorneys have a comprehensive understanding of Pennsylvania divorce law. Our lawyers focus entirely on men’s divorce issues, including Pennsylvania child custody laws, Pennsylvania alimony laws, and child support in Pennsylvania.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell Philadelphia divorce lawyer, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and the best service possible.
Frequently Asked Philadelphia Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Philadelphia to file for divorce?
Either spouse must be a resident of the state of Pennsylvania for at least six months prior to filing. You can file in any county in which you currently reside.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Philadelphia before a divorce can be granted?
There is a mandatory waiting period in Pennsylvania of 90 days from the date of filing the divorce.
At that time the parties may sign consents to the divorce if they so choose.
How can I serve my spouse in Philadelphia? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
The first attempt to serve is typically done via regular and certified mail, simultaneously.
If that fails you would attempt personal service through an adult over the age of 18 who has no interest in the case, or you would hire a service provider.
If this fails you will have to serve by publication.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Philadelphia?
In all of Pennsylvania you must attach a copy of your marriage certificate to your complaint.
In Philadelphia County, you must also fill out a Domestic Relations Information Sheet as well.
Where do I file for divorce?
For Philadelphia County, you file at the Family Law Clerk’s office located at 1133 Chestnut St. on the first floor.
How much are filing fees at the local courthouse?
Filing fees range from $300-500 and it depends on the counts you include, such as custody and/or support.