Cordell & Cordell’s San Antonio divorce attorneys aggressively champion for the best interests of their clients.
Featuring a comprehensive understanding of Texas divorce law, our San Antonio divorce lawyers focus entirely on San Antonio divorce issues, including Texas child custody laws, Texas alimony laws, and child support in Texas.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell attorney, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and a dedicated staff.
To schedule an appointment with one of our San Antonio divorce attorneys, please call 210-544-5644 or 1-866-DADS-LAW.
Frequently Asked San Antonio Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in San Antonio to file for divorce?
You have to live in Bexar County for 90 days and in the state of Texas for at least 6 months.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Bexar County before a divorce can be granted? How long will a divorce take?
There is a mandatory 60-day waiting period from the date the petition is filed until a divorce may be finalized.
A divorce will take at least 60 days because of this. However, if the divorce is contested then it will take much longer.
How can I serve my spouse in Bexar County? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
Normally service is perfected by personal service on your spouse either by a private process server or by a sheriff or constable. Your spouse may choose to sign a waiver of service.
If you do not know where your spouse is, have no way of finding out, and have used due diligence to locate your spouse or have them personally served then you may use service by publication.
If there are no children involved then this may be done by posting on the courthouse door. If children are involved then you must do this through publication in the Hart Beat, a local newspaper, and you must also hire an ad litem to represent the absent party’s interest.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Bexar County?
You will need to file an Original Petition for Divorce, Request for Service, if needed, and a Civil Case Information sheet.
Where do I file for divorce in Bexar County?
In Bexar County, you will file in district court.
How much are filing fees at the local courthouse?
For a divorce without children the filing fees are $248. For a divorce with children filing fees are $299.
There are also additional fees for service of process.
Are there any Bexar County-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
Bexar County is different in the sense that it has a presiding system.
All cases are called by the presiding judge for that month at the appropriate docket and then assigned out based on time announcements to one of the available judges that day.
Thus, your case could be heard by a different judge each time you go to court.