Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
Cordell & Cordell’s Houston family law lawyers aggressively champion for the best interests of their clients.
Featuring a comprehensive understanding of Texas divorce law, our Houston divorce attorneys focus entirely on Houston divorce issues, including Texas child custody laws, Texas alimony laws and child support in Texas.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell attorney, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and a dedicated staff.
Frequently Asked Houston Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Houston before I can file for divorce?
You must have lived in Texas for past 6 months and County for 90 days preceding filing.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Houston before a divorce can be granted?
Yes, there is a 60-day mandatory waiting period before your divorce can be finalized.
How can I serve my spouse in Houston?
You may serve the Respondent by personal service through the constable or private process server, by certified mail sent through the district clerk’s office, or by substitute service if the court gives permission.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Houston?
With every divorce that is filed you must complete a civil case information sheet along with the Petition.
Where do I file for divorce?
The Family Court Building is located at 1115 Congress in downtown Houston.
How much are filing fees at the local courthouse?
The fees vary depending on if you are filing a contested divorce, contested divorce with children, uncontested divorce or an uncontested divorce with children. Typically, you can expect fees in the area of $250.
All filing fees are available on the Harris County website.