Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Or schedule your appointment online.
Cordell & Cordell’s Dallas family law attorneys aggressively champion for the best interests of their clients.
Featuring a comprehensive understanding of Texas divorce law, our Dallas divorce attorneys focus entirely on Dallas divorce issues, including Texas child custody laws, Texas alimony laws and child support in Texas.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell lawyer, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and a dedicated staff.
Frequently Asked Dallas Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Dallas before I can file for divorce?
A suit for divorce can be maintained in Dallas County if:
(1) Either the petitioner or respondent has resided there for the past 90 days if both parties have been domiciled in Texas for the past six (6) months;
(2) Dallas is the county where the Petitioner has resided for the past 90 days if he or she is the only party who has been domiciled in Texas for the past six (6) months; or
(3) Dallas County is the county where the Respondent resides if he is the only party who has been domiciled in Texas for the past six (6) months.
See Tex. Fam. Code Sec. 6.301, 6.3-2.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in Dallas County before a divorce can be granted?
In Dallas County, there is a 60-day waiting period. Generally, a court cannot render a final judgment for divorce until at least 60 days after the day the suit was filed. See Tex. Fam. Code Sec. 6.702(a).
A party can ask for a waiver of the 60-day waiting period if:
(1) The Respondent has been convicted of or received deferred adjudication for an offense involving family violence against the Petitioner or a member of the Petitioner’s household; or
(2) The Petitioner has an active protective order and order based on finding of family violence committed by the Respondent during the marriage.
See Tex. Fam. Code Sec. 6.702(c)(2).
How can I serve my spouse in Dallas County? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
In Dallas County, when the Respondent is in Texas, service is proper if the Respondent is hand delivered a copy of the citation and petition for divorce. Service may be done by a sheriff, constable, or another person authorized by law. Tex. R. Civ. P. 103.
Service is also proper by mailing the citation and petition by registered or certified mail with return receipt requested. The return receipt with the addressee’s signature is attached to the return. Tex. R. Civ. P. 106.
On Motion, supported by an affidavit saying personal delivery was unsuccessful, the court may grant service by an alternative method. Under substitute service, the court can order that the citation and a copy of the petition can be left with anyone over age 16 at the specified location or in any manner that the affidavit stated would reasonably give the respondent notice of the divorce suit.
Waiver of service is also proper, if the Respondent will agree to accept service. If the Respondent will agree to sign a waiver of service, than hand delivery is not required.
If the Respondent is represented by counsel, service may also be proper on the Respondent’s attorney of record if the attorney will agree to accept service on the respondent’s behalf.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Dallas County?
To file for divorce in Dallas County, you will need to file along with your Petition for Divorce a Civil Case Information Sheet.
Where do I file for divorce in Dallas?
You should file for divorce with the Dallas County Family Judicial District Courts. The George Allen Courthouse is located at 600 Commerce St. in Dallas.
How much are filing fees at the Dallas courthouse?
The Dallas Family Court Fees are as follows:
Adoption with one Child – $309
Annulment – $240
Declare Marriage Void – $240
Divorce – $255
Divorce with Children – $306
Paternity – $288
All other suits affecting Parent/Child Relationship – $288
All other suits – $237
Are there any Dallas County-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
Yes, the there are the Local Rules of the Family District Courts of Dallas County, which can be found at the Dallas County Family Court website.
One aspect specific to Dallas County that is not in all counties in Texas is that once you file for divorce the Dallas County Standing Order goes into place and puts restrictions on what the parties can and cannot do throughout the divorce. Click the linked words to review a copy of a Standing Order.