Chat with us in the lower-right corner of the screen.
Email us via contact form
Cordell & Cordell’s Charlotte divorce attorneys are available to help you develop goals for your divorce and custody case and inform you of all your options as it relates to you family law matter.
When you retain a Cordell & Cordell Charlotte divorce attorney, we will work with you by providing top-notch client care, up-to-date notes on your case, an online child custody tool, and the best service possible.
Frequently Asked Charlotte Divorce Questions
How long do I have to live in Charlotte to file for divorce?
Either the Plaintiff or Defendant must have resided in the state for six (6) months prior to filing for divorce in North Carolina.
Is there a mandatory waiting period in this Charlotte before a divorce can be granted? How long will a divorce take?
In North Carolina, the parties must live separate and apart for one year and one day prior to filing a divorce. After the parties have lived separate and apart for at least one year, a party can petition the court for a divorce.
It is difficult to predict how long a divorce will take, as it is case by case. However, once the opposing party is served, that party has 30 days to file responsive pleadings or waive his/her right to file a response before the court can enter a final divorce decree.
How can I serve my spouse in Charlotte? If attempts to serve do not work, can I serve by publication?
A party can serve the opposing party by sheriff of the county where service is to be completed or by a duly authorized person, registered or certified mail, or by a designated delivery service.
You may serve by publication, but only after you attempt to serve the opposing party by personal service, registered or certified mail, or other authorized delivery service. A local newspaper that is qualified for legal advertisements in the area that the opposing party is believed to reside or, if unknown, in the county where the action is filed can be contacted for this purpose.
What are the specific forms I will need to file for a divorce in Charlotte?
In North Carolina, the initiating party must first file a Complaint to initiate the divorce action. A Summons must also be properly filed to initiate a divorce action.
Where do I file for divorce in Mecklenburg County?
A party residing in Mecklenburg County must file their divorce complaint at the Mecklenburg County Courthouse located at 832 E. Fourth St. in Charlotte.
How much are filing fees at the Mecklenburg County Courthouse?
The Mecklenburg County Courthouse filing fees for divorce are $225, plus $10 if you are requesting a name change. It costs an additional $30 if you would like to serve the opposing party via sheriff.
Are there any Charlotte-Specific laws that are different from how other family law cases around the state are handled?
In North Carolina, most Judicial Districts have a set of specific local rules relevant to domestic cases filed within that particular jurisdiction. Consult with a Charlotte divorce lawyer for specific information on the rules and procedures of the local court.